top of page

Balancing Your Chakras

A guide on the 7 chakras and ways to balance them! 3 November 2023 | Shelley Hartman

What are the Seven Chakras? The human body has seven energy centers, each known as a chakra. Located along the spine, the chakras begin from the base and go all the way up to the crown of the head. Each chakra is associated with a specific color, sound, and aspect of our being.

Root Chakra Seed sound: Lam

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine and governs our basic survival needs, such as food, shelter, and safety. When this chakra is balanced, we feel grounded, secure, and stable. However, when it is blocked or imbalanced, we may experience feelings of anxiety, fear, or insecurity. Activities like yoga and meditation can help to open and balance the root chakra, allowing us to feel more connected to our physical bodies and the world around us. Sacral Chakra Seed sound: Vam

The sacral chakra, located below the navel, is linked to creativity and is associated with the element of water. It governs emotions, relationships, and pleasure. A balanced sacral chakra leads to harmonious relationships, free self-expression, and creativity. On the other hand, a blocked sacral chakra may cause instability and intimacy issues. Balancing the sacral chakra involves exploring emotions, embracing creativity, and practicing mindfulness and meditation. Solar Plexus Seed Sound: Ram

The third chakra is referred to as the solar plexus. It can be identified by the color yellow and its location at the upper abdomen. Confidence and taking action are associated with this chakra. This chakra can be balanced by engaging in activities that promote self-esteem and self-worth, such as practicing positive affirmations or taking on new challenges. Yoga poses like the boat pose and twists can also help stimulate this chakra. Eating yellow foods like bananas and pineapple, as well as incorporating herbs like ginger and turmeric into your diet, can also aid in balancing the solar plexus chakra. Remember to listen to your body and prioritize self-care in order to maintain a healthy balance in all of your chakras. Heart Chakra Seed Sound: Yam

The heart is the fourth chakra. This chakra represents love and is associated with compassion, empathy, and forgiveness. A balanced heart chakra promotes healthy relationships and inner peace, while an imbalanced one can lead to loneliness and bitterness. Practicing self-care and acts of kindness towards oneself and others, as well as spending time in nature and practicing gratitude, can help balance the heart chakra and cultivate a greater sense of love and harmony in our lives. Throat Chakra Seed Sound: Ham

The throat chakra, represented by the color blue, governs communication and listening. When it is clear we can be effective listeners and speakers. When blocked, it can lead to frustration, anxiety, interpersonal conflict and physical symptoms. To maintain balance, practice singing, affirmations, and active listening. Use blue gemstones and essential oils like peppermint or eucalyptus to aid in opening up the throat chakra. Third Eye Chakra Seed Sound: Om

Your third eye, situated in the middle of your forehead, is linked to spiritual awareness and intuition. By maintaining harmony in this chakra through meditation, mindfulness, and the consumption of foods and herbs such as blueberries, lavender, and dark chocolate, you can enhance your intuitive abilities and access your inner wisdom. However, when this chakra is imbalanced, you may experience headaches, and difficulty concentrating. On an emotional level, you may feel disconnected from your intuition and feel indecisive. To balance your third eye chakra, it is important to engage in practices that promote relaxation and mindfulness. This can include yoga, meditation, and spending time in nature. You can also incorporate aromatherapy into your routine, using essential oils such as frankincense and sandalwood. The Crown Chakra Seed Sound: Ah

The crown chakra is located at the top of the head and is associated with spirituality, consciousness, and awareness. When balanced, it connects us to the divine and our inner selves, providing purpose and direction. Blocked or unbalanced, it can lead to confusion and a lack of purpose. Spiritual practices like meditation and prayer can help balance this chakra.

14 views0 comments


bottom of page